Representative council

The Representative Council exercises the supreme decision-making power belonging to the members of Metsäliitto Cooperative in the matters specified by law and regulations. The Representative Council substitutes the meeting of the cooperative in Metsäliitto Cooperative. The meeting of the Representative Council processes the matters specified in the Cooperatives Act and the rules of the cooperative, and other matters mentioned in the invitation to the meeting.

The main tasks of the Representative Council are to:

  • decide on adopting the financial statements,
  • decide on the distribution of profit to the members,
  • decide on discharging the Supervisory Board, Board or Directors and CEO/President and CEO from liability,
  • elect the members of the Supervisory Board and the auditors and to decide on their fees.

A full member of Metsäliitto Cooperative may be elected to the Representative Council. Persons who are employed by Metsäliitto Cooperative or a Group company and who are members of the Metsäliitto Cooperative Supervisory Board or Board of Directors are not eligible to stand for election to the Representative Council.

The election of the Representative Council is carried out every fourth year by postal vote or a vote over a communications link or with some other technical device. Each member has one vote. The election is carried out by election districts such that as many representatives are selected from each district as the list of voters for the district in question includes Metsäliitto Cooperative members entitled to vote on 1 January of the election year, divided by 2,300 or part thereof. The election districts are confirmed by the Supervisory Board, and they are essentially determined in accordance with Metsäliitto Cooperative's district organisations.

Representative council's decision-making

​In accordance with the rules, the Representative Council convenes once a year in the spring. The Representative Council, Supervisory Board or the Board Directors may decide to call an extraordinary meeting. An extraordinary meeting shall also be arranged if demanded by at least one tenth of the Representative Council members. Unless otherwise required by the Cooperatives Act for certain matters, the Representative Council is convened by the Supervisory Board no later than 7 days before the meeting with a written invitation to the meeting sent to every member of the Representative Council, which must include the matters to be discussed in the meeting.

Each member of the Representative Council has one vote in the meeting. Amending Metsäliitto Cooperative's rules requires the amendment proposal to be supported by a minimum of two thirds of the members participating in the meeting. In addition to the members of the Representative Council, the President and CEO of the Metsä Group, the Chair of the Board of Directors and, as a general rule, the members of the Board of Directors and Supervisory Board are present at meetings of the Representative Council. In addition to these, the auditors are also present at the annual meeting.

Members of Representative Council

The Representative Council of Metsäliitto Cooperative consists of the following 52 members in the four-year term 1.7.2019–30.6.2023:

Forestry Engineer
Kaarlo Aikio, Kuusamo
Forestry Entrepreneur
Reijo Palohuhta, Evijärvi
Forest Owner
Seppo Airaksinen, Vantaa
Bachelor of Natural Resources, Farming
Antti-Jussi Perttu, Eura
Juha Anttila, Vilppula
Farming Entrepreneur
Juho Pietilä, Loimaa
Roger Björknäs, Kristiinankaupunki
Forestry Engineer, Pensioner
Timo Pietilä
Christer Finne, Mustasaari
Petri Purhonen, Enonkoski
Jaakko Halkilahti, Salo
Antti Pätilä, Ruokolahti
Farming Entrepreneur
Hans Hall, Leppävirta                    
Farming and Forestry Entrepreneur
Tuomo Raininko, Niinisalo
Logger, Smallholder farmer
Pentti Havanka, Ruovesi
​Forest Owner
Jaakko Ryymin, Iisalmi
Harri Isomuotia, Hämeenkyrö
Forestry Engineer
Ensio Saari, Isokyrö
Agrologist, Farmer
Maarit Kallio, Sastamala
Rural Director
Esko Saatsi, Nurmes
Farmer, Senior Lawyer
Esko Kiviranta, Sauvo
Farming and Forestry Entrepreneur
Timo Saviniemi, Hämeenlinna
Forester, Rural Entrepreneur
Liisa Korpela, Kärkölä
Member of the Parliament, Farming Entrepreneur
Mikko Savola, Ähtäri
Farming Entrepreneur
Jaakko Koskinen, Hamina
Mauno Soronen, Haapavesi
Bachelor of Natural Resources, Farmer
Katri Könönen, Tohmajärvi
Liisa Stenman-Kässi, Uurainen
Forester, Game manager
Jani Körhämö, Pälkäne
Ilkka Säynätjoki, Kuhmonen
Forestry Entrepreneur
Markku Laitinen, Kangasniemi
Teuvo Tapaninen, Sodankylä
Farming and Forestry Entrepreneur
Mika Laukkanen, Tuusniemi
Farming and Forestry Entrepreneur
Matti Tiusanen, Sumiainen
Mikko Leikola, Lohja
Pekka Torppa, Toivakka
Matti Lyömiö, Mäntyharju
Kim Tyskas, Lapinjärvi
Farming Entrepreneur
Petri Miettinen, Juva
Jari Törmikoski, Raahe
Forestry Engineer, Sales person
Eeva Mikkonen, Rääkkylä
​Forestry Entrepreneur
Kirsi Uotila, Helsinki
​Public Health Nurse
Heli Moilanen, Paltamo
Jorma Vuorela, Jalasjärvi
Forestry Technician
Jussi Moilanen, Suomussalmi
Farming and Forestry Entrepreneur
Kimmo Yli-Antola, Laitila
Forestry Entrepreneur
Tiina Morri, Virrat
Jarmo Yli-Korhonen, Kauhajoki
Jan-Ove Nyman, Kokkola
Aatto Ylimartimo, Tervola
Farming and Forestry Entrepreneur, Full-time Teacher
Jari Orjala, Kannus
Päivi Ylä-Outinen, Ylämaa