Owners and management


Metsä Fibre is owned by its parent company Metsäliitto Cooperative (50.1 per cent), Metsä Board (24.9 per cent) and ITOCHU Corporation (25.0 per cent).

Metsä Fibre is part of Metsä Group, which comprises Metsäliitto Cooperative, its two businesses Metsä Forest and Metsä Wood, and the cooperative's subsidiaries Metsä Tissue, Metsä Board and Metsä Fibre. Metsäliitto Cooperative is the parent company of Metsä Group and it is owned by over 90,000 private forest owners.

Metsä Group's ownership base and business structure differentiate it positively from its competitors and provide a long-term perspective on its operations. Through Metsäliitto Cooperative's owner-members, Metsä Group has access to a substantial reserve of premium-quality raw material, providing it with a stable, long-term foundation for the development of its operations and production plants.

Metsä Fibre's Board of Directors

Metsä Fibre's highest decision-making body is the Board of Directors, whose chairman is Ilkka Hämälä, President and CEO of Metsä Group.

The other members are:
Mika Joukio, Member, Metsä Board, CEO
Esa Kaikkonen, Member, Metsä Tissue, CEO
Vesa-Pekka Takala, Member, Metsä Group, CFO
Jin Asada, Member, ITOCHU Fibre Ltd, CEO

Metsä Fibre's management team

The management team is responsible for operational management and prepares proposals for the Board of Directors. The chairman of Metsä Fibre's management team is Ismo Nousiainen, CEO of Metsä Fibre.

The other members are:
Mikko Antsalo, Senior Vice President, Sales and Customership
Ari Harmaala, Senior Vice President, Sales and Marketing Development
Sanna Huhtilainen, Senior Vice President, Human Resources
Timi Hyppänen, Senior Vice President, Supply Chain
Virva Juhola, Senior Vice President, Sawn Timber production 
Mikko Nieminen
, Senior Vice President, Pulp production
Jani Oksanen
Kaija Pehu-Lehtonen, Senior Vice President, Business Development

  • Ismo Nousiainen

    Ismo Nousiainen

  • Mikko Antsalo
    SVP, Sales and Customership

    Mikko Antsalo

  • Ari Harmaala
    SVP, Sales and Marketing Development

    Ari Harmaala

  • Sanna Huhtilainen
    SVP, HR

    Sanna Huhtilainen

  • Timi Hyppänen
    SVP, Supply Chain

    Timi Hyppänen

  • Virva Juhola
    SVP, Sawn timber production

    Virva Juhola

  • Mikko Nieminen
    SVP, Pulp production

    Mikko Nieminen

  • Jani Oksanen

    Jani Oksanen

  • Kaija Pehu-Lehtonen
    SVP, Business development

    Kaija Pehu-Lehtonen